Picture taken from NRK. Photo credit: Javier Auris

Congratulations to pianist Sebastian Egebakken Svenøy, who was chosen as the winner of the 2024 Virtuos competition, broadcast live on NRK on 6 April 2024.  

He receives: Den Norske Solistpris 2024 of 100.000NOK, presented by Voksenåsen Program Director Anna Florén; a recital at the Bergen Festival and a concerto performance with NRK KORK in 2024; and the opportunity to represent Norway in the international final of the Eurovision Young Musician competition.

The 20-year-old gave a captivating performance of the third movement of Saint-Saens’ Piano Concerto No. 5 with the NRK KORK and Peter Szilvay. He was chosen by audience votes and a jury of experts including Tom Ottar Andreassen and Amalie Stalheim.  The other finalists were Bjørg Pas (19) on violin, Magnus von Brandis (21) on saxophone, Rebecca Nøstrud Isaksen (20) and Olga Melbye Larsson (20) on violin. 

From left to right: Voksenåsen Program Director Anna Florén, TV-host Mari Lunnan, Sebastian Egebakken Svenøy, Bjørg Pas, Magnus von Brandis, Rebecca Nøstrud Isaksen, and Olga Melbye Larsson.

Den Norske Solistpris is awarded in even years to the winners of NRK Virtuos for musicians under 20 years old. In odd years it is awarded to a musician under 30 years old, chosen by an international jury. Founded in 2005 on the basis of a donation from businessman Bernt J. Fossum. For the past three years, Karianne Westfal-Larsen has supported the prize, and the Norwegian Soloist Prize is grateful for the invaluable support she has given. From 2023, and for five years, the award is backed by an anonymous supporter.  Previous winners of the Norwegian Soloist Prize include Alma Serafin Kraggerud (2022), Mathias Rugsveen (2020), Birgitta Elisa OFtestad (2018), Ludvig Gudim (2016), Tine Thing Helseth (2006), Christian Ihle Hadland (2007), Guro Kleven Hagen (2010), Sonoko Miriam Welde (2014), Johan Dalene (2019), Amalie Stalheim (2021).